Customer Reviews

We love our guests – both humans and dogs, and nothing makes us happier than knowing that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us. Read what some of our guests thought about their stay at Bryn Berwyn, Tresaith & the local area.

‘Super stay’ – Rated 5/5

We had a lovely week at the Bryn Berwyn in July. We, and our dachshund, were made really welcome , the staff are so friendly. The room was spotless ,as was the rest of the hotel. Breakfasts were excellent, set us up for the rest of the day. The evening meals were tasty and freshly prepared, very enjoyable. We would visit again but would ask for the ground floor room which would be easier with a dog. The dog bed, towel and bowl, plus treats were a nice touch too .We could have done with a few more clothes hooks/ hangers for our belongings as there was no wardrobe. One point I would raise is that the hotel is ten minutes from the beach going down, coming back is another matter as the hill is very steep . No one else said it was a problem but, at 80, I found it difficult. However, this won’t stop us from returning. Thank you everyone for a good time.

Liz Roche – 13th August 2022

‘Excellent’ – Rated 5/5

Great location near Tresaith beach. Hotel is spotless and has been superbly renovated. Very cosy. Great facilities including library and board games for the children. Breakfast and evening meals were also really good.

Jonathan Allen – 31st July 2022

Enjoyed our stay immensely – Rated 5/5

A clean, comfortable & modern small hotel. Henrietta, Will & their staff were very friendly & accommodating. There was a good choice of both cooked & cold breakfast food available. The full English breakfast was generous & beautifully cooked & we especially liked the Artisan bread. Our room was not en-suite [private bathroom opposite], but an alternative room was offered, albeit at a higher rate. All in all we enjoyed our stay immensely & would have no hesitation in staying there again. We wish Henrietta & Will all the best for their future plans.

Susan Read – 27th July 2022

‘Brilliant short break on beautiful Welsh coast’ – Rated 5/5

Made to feel very welcome by the friendly and helpful staff. Looked forward to returning to our lovely room after a day exploring the beautiful coast. Given great recommendations of places to eat out each evening. Spent our last night sitting out on the decking of The Ship Inn at Tresaith, watching porpoises giving a display in the bay, as we enjoyed a superb evening meal. Thank you, we shall visit again soon.

Jane Russell – 16th July 2022

‘Perfect weekend break!’ – Rated 5/5

Booked last minute, what a gem of a place. From arrival to leaving, could not have asked for better service from Will and Henri and their team. Location perfect, room perfect and beautiful decor throughout. Bryn Berwyn is a great location to explore the Cardigan Bay area and is walking distance to Aberporth and the lovely Tresaith beach. We will be recommending this to our friends!

Tim Evans – 13th July 2022

‘Impressive!’ – Rated 5/5

Thank you B.B.C.H. team! What a wonderful little hiedaway, so close to the Sea in such a quiet spot. We felt at home here from start to finish & wished we could’ve stayed longer! It’s a very clean, comfortable, stylish & well managed Country House that I would highly recommend & return to in a heartbeat. Well done team …. you know how to offer service & provide a ‘home from home’ atmosphere. We will return, Sarah & Phil x

Sarah Cook – 4th July 2022

Warm welcome at boutique hotel in quiet coastal location – Rated 5/5

We stayed for a family reunion as a party of six adults, with some complex dietary and mobility requirements, all of which were catered for with ease. Henrietta was efficient and welcoming, as were all the staff, and was great at recommending local amenities. Although a limited menu, dinner was well prepared and reasonably priced. Breakfast was of a high standard, especially the bacon! The beach is an easy walk away and we enjoyed some super coastal path walks – even saw a dolphin!

Jayne Sharif – 28th June 2022

Comfortable B and B – Rated 4/5

The Staff were very accommodating when we arrived later than anticipated due to our long and extended journeys as guests to a Family Wedding. Friendly and efficient staff and the delicious breakfasts made our stay very pleasant. A bigger double bed would have helped for a more comfortable nights sleep but rooms were immaculately clean. Great location a few minutes walk to a lovely beach.

Sue Carande – 27th June 2022

A comfortable and friendly B&B with top breakfasts! – Rated 5/5

We stayed at Bryn Berwyn to complete the section of the Welsh Coastal Path that runs from New Quay to Cardigan. The location was perfect and the cliff walks are just beautiful. You can even get buses on a Friday and Saturday to various points along the WCP so you only have to walk one way! The accommodation is lovely, newly renovated and spotlessly clean. Our room was nicely decorated with quirky wallpaper and had tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk in a cute little urn. The bed was super comfy and the shower spacious. The breakfasts were fantastic! I worked through the menu and loved the eggs florentine and full vegan breakfast, very tasty! We ate at the hotel one night too and really enjoyed our meal which was well priced and freshly prepared. However, it was the people at Bryn Berwyn who really made the stay. The hosts Will and Henrietta are very friendly and helpful and were very supportive when my husband badly sprained his ankle. But all the other staff were lovely too and couldn’t do enough to help! We are definitely going to return and big thanks to everyone!

Sue Brewster – 14th June 2022

WONDERFUL stay – Rated 5/5

We had a lovely stay at Bryan berwyn country house. It’s situated really close to a small and charming beach with a waterfall and several great coastal paths. The house itself is really welcoming due to the recent refurbishment, the nice interior and the friendly staff who were very professional whilst making us feel at home. The whole property had all the mod cons required for an enjoyable stay. The room was really quiet, stylish and comfortable. We highly recommend the Bryn Berwyn country house and will soon visit again; thank you for a great time

Nele Nagels – 8th June 2022

Beautiful Tresaith bijoux hotel – Rated 5/5

Our party of 9 had four rooms. Wonderful welcome with complimentary drink. Freshly decorated and modern vibe. Appetising food and very attentive service. Very close to the beautiful and unspoilt beach. I wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you all of your wonderful team.

Janice Hennessy – 4th June 2022

Great place and great hosts – Rated 5/5

We originally booked our stay over the Easter bank holiday, however, immediately after we checked in and unpacked, we had to drive back to Leeds due to a family emergency. The couple who run the hotel are so lovely, they said we could rebook free of charge at a time to suit even though we had already checked in. & that we did, we returned on Sunday after a fab overnight stay in a spacious, clean, well decorated dog friendly room. (they even leave some dog treats in a bowl and a doggy blanket) I would definitely say this is a dog friendly hotel, not a dog ‘tolerant’ hotel like others we have stayed in before. Breakfast the next day was top notch too, we will definitely return!! Thank you for a wonderful stay. 🙂

Emma Wiltshire – 9th May 2022

There’s a welcome in this hillside’ – Rated 5/5

Run by Will and Henrietta, a charming and enthusiastic young couple, Bryn Berwyn is an excellent base for exploring Ceredigion’s wonderful Marine Heritage Coast. Clean, comfortable and with a friendly, relaxed atmosphere.

Peter West – 4th May 2022

Excellent B&B (5 Star)’ – Rated 5/5

Bryn Berwyn Country House is a real gem, luxuriously comfortable, scrupulously clean with a lovely relaxed holiday vibe generated by the friendly, helpful staff. My teenage daughter and I had a fabulously spacious family room with a massive bay window overlooking treetops and hillside to the sea. The room was warm and bright and very well equipped with teas/coffee, bathrobes, hairdryer – even delicious Welsh cake on arrival! We stayed two nights with breakfast both mornings and dinner on our first evening. The standard of catering is remarkably good – the best falafels I’ve ever had (seriously!), and I highly recommend the Eggs Florentine. (My daughter ate from the child’s menu and recommends everything especially the brownie and ice cream!). An excellent break. Thank you Hen and Wills and the Bryn Berwyn Team. See you all again very soon.

Mary Cronin – 2nd May 2022

A very happy stay’ – Rated 5/5

We spent three nights. The whole place was spotless. We were made very welcome [and our black labrador]. Breakfast was delicious and enormous. Visited the beach for an hour each morning, which was [end of April] dog-friendly. Managed to find car-parking, although this could be difficult in high season. Youngsters could easily walk from the hotel.

Rod and Janet Walters – 2nd May 2022

Probably One of the Delightful Boutique Hotel in Tresaith near Cardigan’ – Rated 5/5

We had a really delightful stay at this charming boutique hotel , the lovely Will and Henrietta have done a fabulous job with this beautiful house retaining much of it original features and embracing old and new … the room we booked was a dog friendly one , and our family members had the next room which had fabulous wallpaper and a fabulous bathroom both rooms were clean with crisp bed linen ours had a large shower and everything you need inc hairdryer and a nice touch was a dog bed and treats. The bar area where we had complementary drinks inc local beers and lounge were our favourites with views of the bay in the distance. The ten minute walk down to the beach was lovely bit tough after a few drinks but well worth it but if coming back late maybe take a torch or use your phones we loved the walk back in the clear star studded sky, it was one of our highlights all of us being townies. The Breakfast that Will served the next morning was delicious , three welsh breakfasts and one Eggs Benedict which we all thoroughly enjoyed , plentiful choices from cereal fruit , yogurt and juices etc . The cliff top walk to Aberporth was truly enjoyable with a pint or two in The Ship before our walk back . Sadly we didn’t make the evening meal back at the hotel but we definitely will next time , we ate at the Ship (A Brains pub) in Tresaith which has amazing views and sunsets , no local beer sadly and we found the food to be nice enough . The position of Bryn Berwyn is fantastic with New Quay, Cardigan and Poppit Sands all within easy reach and all a must if staying here. Thank you all for a really fabulous time we will return but for longer next time.

Claire Jones – 24th April 2022

Probably One of the best’ – Rated 5/5

We stayed over the Easter weekend and just the best stay, a warm and friendly welcome from the fantastic staff, nothing was too much bother. The room was well appointed and clean, tea, coffee, bottled water and some Welsh cakes too. Breakfast each morning was beautifully cooked with vegan and veggie options – delicious! It’s just a short walk (8 minutes) to Tresaith beach and stunning walks along the coastal path. If you’re looking for somewhere to stay in this area then this is it, highly recommended! We will be back.

Sue Baron – 19th April 2022

Lovely place close to the beach’ – Rated 5/5

My husband and I took my daughter and our three dogs for the weekend and had a lovely time. We were made to feel very welcome and the owners were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated would definitely recommend.

Dawn Craven – 22nd March 2022

Great – Rated 5/5

Excellent, great staff, great food, great location, great everything.

Amardeep Sahajpal – 2nd March 2022

What a Gem – Rated 5/5

Please read ALL of this review. What a gem of a place. We booked because of the previous reviews, being dog friendly and the stunning location. Our party consisted of two adults and a 11 month old Irish Red Setter called Copper. It certainly lived up to all the reviews. Our room was a dog friendly room, it was spotless. Coffee & Tea available in the room and bottled water. Even for our dog Copper, there was a bed, towel, dog treats, dog bowl and even poo bags, the hosts thought of everything 🙂 The room itself was comfy, clean and warm. The bathroom was big for an en-suite and had a shower/wet room. Again beautifully clean. Breakfast was included each morning for our stay. Alongside the cooked selection choices, fry up including a vegan version there was Bagels and Croissants. You could help yourself to the cereals, yogurts and fruit. Fresh juice also available and of course Tea and Coffee. We ate at Bryn Berwyn on our last night and it was fantastic. It was hot, tasty and more than generous in portion size. My hubby recommends the sticky toffee pudding 🙂 I have left the best to last, the hosts Henrietta and Will, they both went above and beyond. Hen showed us round the house and to our room, was still working when we returned back to the house after taking Copper out for a walk and gave us a free alcoholic drink which was really appreciated. Will printed off maps and suggested the beaches to take Copper and even found my hubby’s phone on the beach ! They both took the time to talk to us and made us feel really welcome. They deserve this to be a success. Wendy also deserves a mention. Every morning Wendy looked after us with our breakfast and always had a smile waiting for us. We will definitely be going back.

Teresa Rowstron – 26th February 2022

Very comfortable with excellent hosts – Rated 5/5

We stayed for one night while travelling the Welsh coast and what a find!

Will and Henrietta have done a fantastic job of the hotel styling and put a lot of thought into making your stay enjoyable. The hotel bar was stocked with a great selection of drinks and the breakfast menu had plenty of choices. We will definitely be staying again.

Emma Williams – 5th December 2021

Never mind the weather – Rated 5/5

The facilities are precisely as described both on the site and by the photo gallery. The staff are a joy.
Tresaith is a real hidden gem. In all a perfect relaxed and informal retreat. Oh …and the best poached eggs ever!!
Many thanks

George Morgan – 1st November 2021

SUPER GOOD – Rated 5/5

Accessable room //wheelchair accommodation lounge bedroom and wetroom, highly recommended with easy access for breakfast and the bar. Henrietta, Will and all the staff could not have been more helpful during our four day stay. thanks to all

Emlyn Rees – 10th October 2021

A warm Welsh welcome at a luxury B&B – Rated 5/5

We had a brilliant stay at Bryn Berwyn, thank you/Diolch!

The welcome was warm and friendly but very relaxed. We have a toddler but always felt at home, despite the the luxurious setting. The house has been beautiful refurbished with a high quality, stylish finish. The wallpaper alone is worth a visit!

We had an amazing meal and breakfast. The dinner (Moules-frites with a lovely Sauvignon blanc from Chile) was excellent and very reasonably priced. And the breakfast (eggs benedict) were perfectly executed, with huge glasses for the juice! The service was attentive but relaxed.

Our room was large, stylish, great bathroom and amenities. The pillows were a little too soft for my taste, but we all slept really well. To be fair, this is the only slight issue I had, and I’ve no doubt if it really bothered me, the staff would have sorted it immediately.

The bar also stocks gin made about a mile away, which is in keeping with their ethos of high quality, locally sourced produce. It was also really nice to hear Welsh being spoken by the staff, since Tresaith is in the Welsh speaking heartland of West Wales.

I had a morning swim at Tresaith beach, and would recommend guest explore the surrounding area. This is an exceptionally stunning part of Britain and should be better known frankly!

I would go back in a heartbeat and will recommend this B&B to everyone I know! I have received no bribe for this gushing review! I just thought it was worth the time tell others.

Geraint Jones – 27th September 2021

Top marks!! – Rated 5/5

The owners (Henrietta and Will) and all their staff are wonderful, very welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much for them.

As their website states, dogs are made really welcome, beds, bowls, treats and towels provided + they have an outdoor ‘shower’ for washing the dogs down.

The house is extremely well furnished and decorated, with a large dining room comfortable lounge and bar. Our bedroom (room1) was large, very clean and furnished/decorated to a high standard.

The house is located on a hill about 10 minutes walk from the beach and a pretty good pub, it has a large garden and parking area; and great views of the sea.

We were provided with plenty of useful information about places to visit, pubs and eateries; on two occasions, we had evening meals at the house, which were great – I particularly liked the curry! The breakfasts were fantastic, with plenty of choice.

All in all, top marks!!

Phill Barnett – 24th September 2021

‘Lovely stay lovely hotel lovely staff – Rated 5/5

We had a fabulous long weekend break at Bryn Berwyn. The owners were fabulous, really welcoming and happy to guide and advise you on what to do and where to go. Other staff members were from and really helpful. Bedrooms very comfortable and spotless. Our dog was made very welcome as well.

Breakfast was super and evening meals looked great even though we ate out. Next time we will eat in on our first night and skip the pub down the road on the beach.

Ideal location for beach, walks and visiting near by places. Highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely visit again.

Mellie Pottle Iddon – 21st September 2021

‘First time to stay – Rated 5/5

Excellent stay. Rooms spotlessly clean. Very friendly staff First class food. Will return

Alan Mee – 14th September 2021

‘FAbulous guest house in lovely location – Rated 5/5

Very nicely refurbished guest house beautifully designed. We had room 2 with a view of the sea and lots of space. The owners local knowledge of walks and beaches was invaluable and we were directed to a ‘secret cove’ where we were fortunate enough to swim with a local seal just a few feet away. An unforgettable experience.

Ian Smart – 11th August 2021

FABULOUS’ – Rated 5/5

Wow. Bryn Berwyn ticks all the right boxes. Hen, Will and their fabulous team are friendly and always happy to help. The rooms are gorgeous. Beautifully decorated and comfortable. Especially loved the bespoke hand made clothes rail. Will’s breakfasts were incredible and set us up for the day. Would have no hesitation in recommending Bryn Berwyn.

We will definitely visit again.

Sue Ellams – 9th September 2021

‘Excellent’ – Rated 5/5

Excellent service with lovely touches – welsh cakes, welcome drink etc. Clean and beautifully decorated. All staff very friendly and helpful.

Thoroughly recommended

Ann Canham – 31th August 2021

Super stay – Rated 5/5

Luxurious accommodation with beautiful sea views. Menu limited but what we had was very nice, including breakfast.

Julie Dharamshi – 29th August 2021

A very good find! – Rated 5/5

A rather last minute break in West Wales led us to Bryn Berwyn – and how glad we were to have booked it. Recently refurbished throughout, we were told, and this was clear from the moment we stepped through the door of our dog-friendly ground floor room (8) actually a suite, where complimentary Welsh cakes awaited and furnishings, bed and bath/wet-room were all to a very high standard. Particularly appreciated the ‘rainforest’ shower and from the fittings I assume the room is also suitable for wheelchair users/guests of limited mobility. We chose to eat out but the cooked
breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. A well stocked bar (incl choice of local gins) made our stay that much better on our return.

Staff very helpful about directions to places of interest. We will recommend to friends who are planning visit to the area. Tresaith beach is a short walk down the hill (its also a long walk up!!)

Waterston – 25th August 2021

Fabulous – Rated 5/5

A lovely welcome to our stay, all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Lots of space for Rocky our black lab on site and in the room. Great to have the option to eat in the evening on site. Lovely location, we will be back

Suzy Lloyd – 23rd August 2021

Very enjoyable – Rated 5/5

Excellent: nice welcome and pleasant environment. Very enjoyable and convenient for beach and walks etc.

Prof Jeffrey Newton – 18th August 2021

‘SUPERB’ – Rated 5/5

On arrival we were met with a smiling face and a warm welcome. The place was spotless and very comfortable. The food was excellent and plentiful.

The bed was comfortable and could not fault our stay. Would highly recommend.

Andy – 16th August 2021

Unexpected delight – Rated 5/5

Fantastic place – young couple, Will & Hen who run this gem, have worked so hard so give it a make over and the decor is wonderful. They were so welcoming & helpful too. Excellent breakfasts. Lovely spot with the beach just down the road complete with waterfall onto it!

Alison Latham – 15th August 2021

‘A LITTLE COSY HAVEN’ – Rated 5/5

Such a beautiful, welcoming retreat for a few days. Our room was a little small but cosy. Great place for walking & to wonder down to the beach.

Probably a little holky for some but perfect for us. Loved it. Staff were so lovely. Thank you

Lorna Barrow – 13th August 2021

‘Fantastic’ – Rated 5/5

Lovely warm welcome to a hidden gem in beautiful surroundings. The place itself has been renovated with a contemporary style and is spotlessly clean. The staff were all so friendly.

I’d highly recommend this place to travellers, young and old.

Mrs Polly – 9th August 2021


Third Party Reviews

Google

Rated 4.9 out of 5 stars on Google – Read Reviews